You, Me, Zombies, and Guns

Here I am. I’m sitting here, waiting for the ice in my personal ice tray to thaw just enough to start gnawing on it (I’m a frozen water fiend… it’s so good and the texture is just amazing). I was off reading (about writing, no less) and waiting for sleep to take me so I could be carried off into dreams about zombies and bunnies and whatever else my psycho brain can come up with. My mind wandered to my latest conversation on twitter, which I will now paraphrase for you all.

@seanrony pointed out that guns are bad against zombies. I replied to let him know that I agree because guns are loud and attract both zombies and enemy humans. He agreed. I then brought up the danger of dwindling ammo and needing time to reload. How ironic would it be to fight through and survive the worst parts of the zompocalypse, only to be bitten and killed off by a hungry hoard just because you needed a little bit of extra time to reload or even ran out of ammo altogether? Then, there’s the fact that eventually all ammo would disappear through use and not only is making your own bullets illegal in the current state of things (and therefore a skill most people would need to learn in an already stressful survivalist world full of death and decay – literally), but as @seanrony pointed out, the necessary gear would be too heavy and take up too much precious space.

Needless to say, guns seem like a bad idea in the event of a zombie apocalypse. I would even go so far as to say that guns seem generally useless in the event of any apocalypse at all, since the sound of the gunshot would scare off most wildlife, and they would also smell gunpowder on your clothes (so it might work for hunting… for a little while). I could be wrong here, and if I am, please let me know respectfully. Not only that, but the sound would alert other humans to your presence and that just doesn’t seem like a very good idea.

My personal preference in case of a zombie or any other apocalypse? Stealth, avoiding combat, and low tech melee and range weapons. I’m hoping that I would find myself to be a natural archer because so far I have no experience with bows and arrows.

What are some of your plans in the event of a zombie outbreak or general apocalypse? The 2012 hype might be over, but that doesn’t negate the very real possibility of civil unrest or economic collapse… or worse. Do you believe in guns or do you have another weapon of choice? Leave a comment and continue the conversation. 😀

Leave a Reply

