Shedding

For a long time, I was stagnant. I tried to move forward but never seemed to get anywhere. It was like I was drowning in quicksand because the more I struggled to free myself, the worse everything got.

Then one day, the unthinkable happened. My entire life shattered and took with it the stagnant complacency. At first, I thought that my petitions and prayers backfired but it eventually became apparent that I was shedding my skin so that I could grow. The old weeds that poisoned and choked the ground around me were yanked from my life.

After the trauma has healed a little bit and the shaking has stopped, I can breathe and feel the sun and air on my face. It will take a while for nutrients to build within me again but I am on the road to healing and someday flourishing.

