I Wanted To Die Yesterday

I wanted to die yesterday.

Thick fog streamed across the sky and filled the spaces in my soul with cold. Skyscrapers towered like dragons from the future, bringing bile to my throat. My heart fluttered in my chest. Frozen fingers gripped me by the neck and pulled me close to whisper in my ear.

They whispered of Hell.

They whispered secrets of this universe.

Their rasping voices lingered in my mind long past their sharing. Heat flushed through me, lighting me aflame with the fires of the pit. I choked on a cry.

Why, why, why, why did they choose me to share their secrets with?

I tugged my beard and raked my fingernails across my cheeks. Hell was with me. Hell camped out in my living room. Where Hell wasn’t, Purgatory stayed… with its freezing sting and emptiness. Heaven was off the table. Heaven had never been on the table.

The most terrifying thing they’ve ever said to me is, “You will never die. I own you. We own you.”

Slitting my wrists proved just how true their statements were. Swallowing pills never did it. Metal in my mouth and the discharge of gunpowder only led to a headache. I was immortal. I was a ghost.

I wanted to die yesterday.
ยฉ Brandy Owens 
If you like this, check out my short story, “Lover’s Inferno”, available here on Amazon.
Stay tuned. There’s more in the works, as long as the Muses and characters cooperate! Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day or night, whenever you are. 

One thought on “I Wanted To Die Yesterday

Leave a Reply

