Writer, Saved

My boyfriend saved me, as a writer.

I know it’s cliche to talk about your significant other like that, but it’s true. Before he came into my life, I wrote everything on my phone. My phone didn’t have much space and the screen was small compared to the phone I have now. It was far less than ideal as a writing tool.

With the small screen and the lack of drive due to constantly allowing myself to rush to involvement in everyone else’s streams of self-made interpersonal drama and discord, it removed my ability to efficiently write.

One day, he obtained a word processing software so that I could write. He put it on his computer, sat me down in front of it with the keyboard, and watched as I combed through my old novels in progress. He praised me for doing what comes naturally to me as I typed away.

Then, because we couldn’t always share his computer and I need more time to write, he provided a computer to me. (We also enjoy playing games online together so that factored into it, too.) He’s a technology nerd, as he says, so he brought me a fixer. It may not be the best computer out there but it does what I need for the time being. Neither of us have the amount of money necessary to buy a nicer computer right now so just having something that I can write, watch movies, or play some video games on is huge to me.

Now I can write, publish, and even create art again once I have the software for it. Never again will I take computers for granted. When you’re a writer, they’re essential. Don’t destroy your tools when you don’t know if or when you’ll get another. I was without for a year and it’s not worth less weight in your bag when the weight on your shoulders and chest from being silenced is heavier.
ยฉ Brandy Owens 
If you like this, check out my short story, “Lover’s Inferno”, available here on Amazon.
Stay tuned. There’s more in the works, as long as the Muses and characters cooperate! Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day or night, whenever you are. 

Leave a Reply

