Don’t (Try To) Flirt With Me

Frankly, I’m disappointed that I even need to make a PSA about this. 

Don’t try to flirt with me.

I’m off limits. 

It’s especially obnoxious when it takes place on websites I use for networking and minor social interactions, such as LinkedIn and Twitter. I tell the people involved that I’m taken when I casually slip the fact that I have a boyfriend into the conversation when I intuitively sense that their intention for the conversation is not friendly or professional banter. 

For some reason, this either goes over their heads or they think they’re somehow special. 

They’re not. No one is. I’m a happily shacked up woman. 

Frankly, even if I were the type to cheat (I’m not), if I were unhappy in my relationship (I’m not), even if I were single… I still wouldn’t be into you. 

Men who insist on trying to establish some pseudo-romantic bond with me, please be aware of something: I wouldn’t want you anyway. 

Whether it be distance, age, boredom when you say something, not finding any intelligence in you, the fact that you’re just words on a screen, or any other reason… I’m not interested. I’m polite and friendly because I’m generally a polite and friendly person unless someone severely fucks up. It doesn’t mean I want you. It doesn’t mean I find you interesting. It means I’m giving you a chance to carry on a (hopefully) semi-intelligent conversation between two people who are just people. No need for sleaze and believe me, I will not tell you my family history or allow you to dismiss my relationship. You have nothing to offer, even if I were interested. If I want to meet someone, I’d join a dating site. The fact that we’re not talking on a dating site should tell you everything you need to know. 

If you need attention that much from women, join a dating site. Women there actually want to flirt with you. 

Just be a decent person. 

Don’t try to flirt with me.
ยฉ Brandy Owens 
If you like this, check out my short story, “Lover’s Inferno”, available here on Amazon.
Stay tuned. There’s more in the works, as long as the Muses and characters cooperate! Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day or night, whenever you are. 

Leave a Reply

